top of page

The Queen of the Tearling

The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen Kelsea Raleigh has been raised in hiding after the death of her mother, the Queen of Tearling, in a small cabin in the middle of nowhere. At the age of 19 the Queen's Guard find her to bring her back to the palace and take over as Queen. But many struggles face her. Since the death of her mother, the Tearling has fallen to pieces. The city has become ruled by the black market and poverty is everywhere. There are little to no doctors and next to no one knows how to read... not that it matters seeing as there are no printing presses, therefore books are hard to come by. Kelsea must try to pick up her country piece by piece but will she be ready to face the consequences? This book was given to me as a gift last summer and I only just found the time to read it. But once I opened it I got sucked so deeply into the story I found it VERY hard to put the book down. Even when I did return to my everyday life I would find my mind wondering to try and figure out what was going to happen next. Kelsea is a strong feminist and really shows the struggles women must face in a place of power. Many readers are comparing her to Katniss Everdeen and not surprising Emma Watson is a huge fan: “I didn’t sleep for a week because I couldn’t put the bloody thing down. It would be fair to say I became obsessed with the book.” Emma Watson

*Warning* if you are to read this book, understand that it is an Adult Fiction and has some mature content. ~Kea

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page